Skip to content

Ben Laden, terrorism, agro-industry and WW II commemorations…

May 6, 2011

Hi everyone.

It has been a momentous week for the U.S.  I woke up Monday morning to the news of Bin Laden’s death.  As the President said, “Justice has been done.”  I fully recognize that this operation was but one step (albeit a major one) in our continued fight against violent extremists/terrorists.  As someone who had a former high school teacher on one of those planes from Boston that flew into one of the towers in New York on 9/11, I feel a bit vindicated.  We will, of course, remain vigilant.

This week I was again in one of my favorite cities in France — Metz.  Although I only had time to participate in an agro-industry conference, at which the USA was the invited guest country of honor, I always feel at home in Metz and look forward to my next visit there soon.  

This weekend I will have the opportunity to honor American GIs when I travel for a ceremony in another part of Lorraine to commemorate all those brave women and men who served and died in World War II in that part of France.  As the son of a U.S. Army soldier who fought in WW II, such ceremonies have special significance for me.

On that note, have a good weekend, everyone.  We look forward to hearing from you.

Vin Carver

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

