Skip to content

Commemorating those who lost their lives for liberty

May 11, 2011

Hello and thanks for visiting our Cyber Ambassadors blog!

I would like to tell you about some great events I attended this past weekend.  Saturday morning I went to Corny-sur-Moselle for a ceremony marking the Allied victory in World War II at which several officials and I laid wreaths to honor those who died so that others could live in freedom.  As the son of a U.S. Army soldier who fought in that war, such ceremonies hold special and personal – and solemn – meaning for me.

I then joined the Sous-Prefet, the Mayor, and other officials in opening the “Liberation of Lorraine” exhibition, sponsored by the “Thanks GIs” Association.  The exhibit was fantastic – full of history, memorabilia, vehicles and weapons as well as American, French, and German military kits.  It also included letters of the soldiers who fought in the war.  It was very well presented and I’m glad that I was able to see this “part of history.”  Thank you, “Thanks GIs,” not only for all your hard work with the exhibit and its opening, but also for the honor you give to our American veterans and those who were killed – again, so that we can live in a free society. 

Sunday morning I joined French officials as well as several colleagues from the diplomatic corps to attend a ceremony, presided over by Prefet Bisch, in Strasbourg’s Place de la Republique marking the end of World War II.  Some French veterans as well as a Polish general were honored with official decorations.  Under the clear blue sky it was difficult to imagine the hardships and privations experienced by both the military and civilians during World War II and other wars.  Again, thanks to all those who helped defeat the Nazis and their allies.

Saturday afternoon was festive, with over 200 participants helping mark the 20th anniversary of the “Americans in Alsace” Association.  People enjoyed themselves with good food, drink, music, and conversation (as well as good weather!).  Some past presidents of the association traveled from afar to attend.  Thanks to everyone who worked on this great event.

We look forward to hearing from you!

Have a good week,

Vin Carver

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christine Richards permalink
    November 25, 2011 3:09 am

    I was fortunate enough to “find” this WWII memorial near Corny while riding a bicycle along the Moselle with my French cousin who lives in Metz. My mother and her family originally lived in Dornot, but moved to Arnaville during the war. My grandfather (my mother’s father) was an American World War I veteran who met a beautiful French girl and fell in love. The stories I have heard from my mother and her family about WWII are gut wrenching to say the least. It was gratifying to see how much the French appreciate the sacrifices of those who gave so much to restore their freedom.
    I hope the next time I am able to visit my French family I will have the opportunity to spend more time at the memorial. I too enjoyed reading the testimonials, stories and letters very much. Thank you for your blog.
    Christine

Leave a Reply

