Skip to content

Farewell blog of Consul General Reade

July 2, 2014
Consul General Evan G. Reade and his wife Mary Rose in front of their residence

Consul General Evan G. Reade and his wife Mary Rose in front of their residence

 

I’m afraid the time has come for me to say farewell to Strasbourg, Alsace, Lorraine, and Franche Comte.  It seems like only yesterday I was arriving, writing my introductory blog, and starting to explore this marvelous region and getting to know its wonderful people.  These three years have passed way too quickly.  Everywhere I’ve gone during my time here – from the palaces of the Prefets to the city halls of small villages, from grand ceremonies in big city town squares to simple memorials next to small steles erected in the mountains to fallen American soldiers and airmen, to universities, schools, factories, museums, historical sites, the list goes on and on – I have been warmly welcomed.  And I have always been deeply touched by the friendship and respect shown to my country.

The ties that bind France and the United States stretch back to the birth of the United States of America.  Today, we live in a complicated, dangerous world, which makes it all the more important for our two great countries to continue to work side by side, in a strong and enduring partnership to protect and advance our common values and interests.  I hope I’ve been able to play a small role in helping to strengthen these ties, and I look forward to continuing to do so in my next assignment, in Washington, DC.

To my friends and colleagues at the Council of Europe, thank you for making me feel welcome and valued.  The United States is proud of its Observer status and looks forward to continuing to work with you to preserve and promote democracy, human rights, and the rule of law in Europe and beyond.  Thank you for all you do to help promote peace and stability in Europe.

I’d also like to thank my fantastic staff here at the Consulate General, who have done outstanding work these past three years.  We may be one of America’s smallest diplomatic outposts, but I think we provide first-rate service to our American community here, and represent the United States as well as some of our larger missions elsewhere, thanks to their hard work.

Thanks to everyone who has made my stay here so memorable and enjoyable.

Au revoir!

Evan G. Reade

Consul General

Acting Permanent Observer to the Council of Europe

 

(French translation)

 

J’ai bien peur – hélas ! – qu’il soit temps pour moi de dire au revoir à Strasbourg, a l’Alsace, à la Lorraine et à la Franche-Comté. J’ai l’impression que c’était à peine hier que j’arrivais, que j’écrivais les premiers mots du blog, que je découvrais ces régions merveilleuses et que j’apprenais à connaitre leurs habitants exceptionnels…

Ces trois années sont décidemment passées trop vite ! A chaque fois que je me suis déplacé – que ce soit dans les Préfectures ou dans les mairies des petits villages, à des cérémonies majestueuses en plein cœur des grandes villes ou à de simple commémorations près de stèles érigées en l’honneur de soldats ou de pilotes américains,  dans les universités, les lycées, les usines, les musées, les sites historiques, et la liste est longue… ! – j’ai toujours été très chaleureusement accueilli. Aussi, j’ai toujours été très, très touché par l’amitié et le respect témoigné envers mon pays.

Les liens qui unissent la France et les Etats-Unis remontent directement à la naissance des Etats-Unis. Aujourd’hui, le monde dans lequel nous vivons est de plus en plus compliqué et dangereux, ce qui rend encore plus important pour nos deux pays de continuer à travailler main dans la main, dans un partenariat fort et pérenne, pour protéger et faire avancer nos valeurs et intérêts communs. J’espère que j’ai réussi à jouer un tant soit peu un rôle dans le renforcement de ces liens, et j’ai hâte de poursuivre cette mission dans mon nouveau poste à Washington, DC.

A mes amis et collègues du Conseil de l’Europe, je leur dit : « merci ! » pour m’avoir très bien accueilli et toujours estimé. Les Etats-Unis sont fiers de leur titre de « membre observateur » au Conseil de l’Europe et espère continuer à travailler avec vous pour préserver et promouvoir la démocratie, les droits de l’homme et l’Etat de droit en Europe… et de plus en plus au-delà ! Merci pour tous ce que vous faites, chaque jour, pour encourager la paix et la stabilité sur le Vieux Continent.

Je tiens aussi à remercier mon équipe fantastique au Consulat Général, qui a fait un travail extraordinaire pendant ces trois dernières années. On est peut être un des postes diplomatique américains les plus petits, mais je pense que les services rendus à notre communauté américaine étaient des plus attentionnés et que nous avons représenté les Etats-Unis aussi bien que n’importe quelle plus grande mission, et cela grâce à notre travail acharné !

Merci à tous ceux qui ont rendu mon séjour ici si mémorable et plaisant.

Au revoir!

No comments yet

Leave a comment